Africa is made up of 54 countries out of which there are 16 nations that make up the West African countries. West Africa is also called ECOWAS (Economic Community of West African States) and it is the part of Africa that is located at the western part of Africa and most of it is in the Sub-Saharan.



The West Africa Business School strategic human capital development agenda is primarily focused on the 16 countries that make up West Africa namely:

  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone
  • Togo
  • Benin
  • Ivory Coast
  • Burkina Faso
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Senegal
  • Guinea Bissau



  1. West African States, of Historic solidarity,

Come, unite and develop a buoyant economy!

Freedom returning from the yokes of past captivity,

Now West Africa becomes the Economic Community!

Great were the kingdoms of our past:

Ever our bond renewed shall last!

It’s no mystery,

We’ll make history-

From the ocean, to rain forests and the Savannahs;

Working hand In hand,

Each and every land,

We shall progress happily ECOWAS!


  1. Peace and unity and social justice everywhere,

Cultural integration and liberty we declare!

Women and youth, all shall maintain our future bright,

In health;

Human and natural resources shall sustain our wealth.

West Africa, our region State:

Steadfast shall stand our union great!

It’s no mystery,

We’ve made history

From the sea shores to the desert, through the Savannahs:

Each and every land,

All will, hand in hand,

Ever progress happily in ECOWAS!


ECOWAS Official Language

West Africa has three main official languages used in communication and spoken by West African citizens. These languages are English, French and Portuguese. We will now identify ECOWAS countries by the language each country speaks.


English West Africa (Anglophone)


There are five Anglophone countries in West Africa


  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Liberia
  • Nigeria
  • Sierra Leone

French West Africa (Francophone)


There are ten Francophone countries in West Africa

  • Togo
  • Benin
  • Ivory Coast
  • Burkina Faso
  • Guinea
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • Senegal
  • Guinea Bissau


Portuguese West Africa


Cape Verde

Cape Verde, or Cabo Verde, is a nation on a volcanic archipelago off the northwest coast of Africa. It’s known for its Creole Portuguese-African culture and morna music. Its many beaches are jumping-off points for windsports and diving among shipwrecks. Its largest island, Santiago, is home to the current capital, Praia, and the old capital, Cidade Velha, with its clifftop fortress.


CurrencyCape Verdean escudo


Population498,897 (2013) World Bank

Official languagePortuguese

Civil parishPraia

Number of airports1

Colleges and UniversitiesUniversity of Cape Verdemore

Praia – Capital of the Cape Verde

Praia, is the capital and largest city of Cape Verde, an island nation in the Atlantic Ocean west of Senegal. It lies on the southern coast of Santiago island in the Sotavento Islands group


ECOWAS Currency

Currency: West African CFA franc

Countries with this currency

Flag Country Capital Population Total area
Benin Porto-Novo 10,323,000 112,622 km2
Burkina Faso Ouagadougou 17,322,796 274,000 km2
Cote d’Ivoire Yamoussoukro 23,202,000 322,463 km2
Guinea-Bissau Bissau 1,704,000 36,125 km2
Mali Bamako 15,302,000 1,240,190 km2
Niger Niamey 17,129,076 1,267,000 km2
Senegal Dakar 13,567,338 196,722 km2
Togo Lomé 6,191,155 56,785 km2



The West Africa Business School strategic human capital development agenda, focus on the 54 countries that make up Africa as follows: Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Republic of Congo, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Present Currencies of African Countries
Currency ISO Country Currency
DZD  Algeria Algerian Dollars
AOA  Angola Kwanza
XOF  Benin CFA franc
BWP  Botswana Pula
XOF  Burkina Faso CFA franc
BIF  Burundi Burundi franc
XAF  Cameroon CFA franc
CVE  Cape Verde Cape Verdean escudo
XAF  Central African Republic CFA franc
XAF  Chad CFA franc
KMF  Comoros Comorian franc
XAF  Republic of the Congo CFA franc
CDF  Democratic Republic of the Congo Congolese franc
DJF  Djibouti Djiboutian franc
EGP  Egypt Egyptian pound
XAF  Equatorial Guinea CFA franc
ERN  Eritrea Nakfa
ETB  Ethiopia Ethiopian birr
XAF  Gabon CFA franc
GMD  Gambia Dalasi
GHS  Ghana Ghanaian cedi
GNF  Guinea Guinean franc
XOF  Guinea-Bissau CFA franc
XOF  Ivory Coast CFA franc
KES  Kenya Kenyan shilling
LSL  Lesotho Loti
LRD  Liberia Liberian dollar
LYD  Libya Libyan dinar
MGA  Madagascar Malagasy ariary
MWK  Malawi Malawian kwacha
XOF  Mali CFA franc
MRO  Mauritania Ouguiya
MUR  Mauritius Mauritian rupee
MAD  Morocco Moroccan dirham
MZN  Mozambique Mozambican metical
NAD  Namibia Namibian dollar
XOF  Niger CFA franc
NGN  Nigeria Naira
RWF  Rwanda Rwandan franc
STD  Sao Tome and Principe Dobra
XOF  Senegal CFA franc
SCR  Seychelles Seychellois rupee
SLL  Sierra Leone Sierra Leonean leone
SOS  Somalia shilling
ZAR  South Africa South African rand
SSP  South Sudan South Sudanese pound
SDG  Sudan Sudanese pound
SZL  Swaziland Lilangeni
TZS  Tanzania Tanzanian shilling
XOF  Togo CFA franc
TND  Tunisia Tunisian dinar
UGX  Uganda Ugandan shilling
ZMW  Zambia Zambian kwacha
ZWD  Zimbabwe Zimbabwean dollar(No longer in use)